50 billion for Ukraine. Szmychal: Initially, all EU countries agreed

According to the Prime Minister of Ukraine, all countries of the European Union have provisionally agreed to a package of 50 billion euros in aid for Ukraine

On February 1, 2024, the European Union will formally decide to grant Ukraine a billion-dollar package.

Ukrainian Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal said on Friday that all 27 governments of EU member states have provisionally agreed to support a four-year aid program for Ukraine worth 50 billion euros.

He noted that he expected the first vote on the program to take place on February 1.

The EU is blackmailing Hungary

According to Politico, Hungary will face serious consequences if it tries to block the meeting of European leaders to approve the package.

The authors of the publication point out that this scenario can be realized if the EU uses the ‘nuclear option’, i.e. the famous art. 7 of the Treaty on European Union – the most serious political sanction against a Member State, consisting of the suspension of its voting rights in the EU decision-making process.

Some governments are cautious about “exerting pressure” on Member States through art. 7 because they believe that they may face a similar situation in the future, for example when it comes to the rule of law in their own country. Ahead of the special summit on February 1, some EU leaders and the European Commission are trying to curry favor with Viktor Orbán rather than push him further away with the threat to overturn Article 7.

Kułeba: There will be money anyway

Ukrainian Foreign Minister Dmytro Kuleba told Ukrainian media in December that “the formalization of the decision on the 50 billion euros has been postponed until early next year, not because of the Hungarian veto, but because the other 26 European countries give Hungary the time to express its agreement.” for the accession. Because they do not want to end up in a situation where they constantly choose the ‘minus one’ solution.

Kuleba expressed his belief that Ukraine would receive money from the European Union anyway.

– Or it will be done jointly by 27 countries, all EU member states, including Hungary, which has been given a month to conduct additional negotiations. Whether this money will be distributed by the 26 countries of the European Union, excluding Hungary. That’s all (…) It’s about their internal unity, and they try to maintain it despite everything. But if this fails, the money will still be distributed, Kuleba assures.

Source: Do Rzeczy