Martín Demichelis is now officially River Plate’s coach

After his debut as assistant coach of the Malaga – as an assistant to Michael– in the 2017-2018 season, Demichelis took a year off and headed to Munich to begin his career as head coach of the bayern sub’19 in 2019.

Demichelis remained in that position until April 3, 2021, when he took over the reins of the Bavarian subsidiary, playing 58 games with a balance of 35 wins13 draws and 10 losses.

Their last game, played last Friday, resulted in a 4-1 win against SpVgg Ansbach.

Demichelis started his long career as a professional player right with River Plate, where he played 70 games between 2001 and 2003, when he signed for the Bayern Munich for a figure close by 5 million dollars.

He spent his best years as a footballer there, winning four league titles (2004, 2005, 2007 and 2009), among other local championships, and reaching the final of the Champions League 2010, the year he went to Malaga from Manuel Pellegriniwho had already been his coach at River.

After three seasons, Demichelis left for the Manchester Cityagain with the Chilean as coach, and with whom he picked up the title League in 2014.

Relegated to a minor role in the English club, Demichelis returned to the Spanish league in the 2016-2017 campaign to play in the Spanish from Barcelona and one more time in Malaga.

At the end of that season, Demichelis announced his intake of professional football after a formidable career, with 550 matches and 32 goals to his credit.

An experience in clubs to which he adds his career in the ranks of the national team, with which he played in two World Cups (South Africa 2010 Y Brazil 2014) and a America cup (Chile 2015).

Now he faces the biggest challenge of his career, taking over from Gallardo on the bench.

With ‘el Muñeco’ on the bench, River won the 2014 South American Cupthe Cup for winners of the 2015 South American Cup, 2016 Y 2019the 2015 Libertadores Cup Y 2018the Suruga Bank Cup of 2015the Argentina Cup 2016, 2017 Y 2019the Argentina Super Cup 2017 Y 2019the Professional competition 2021 and the Champions Trophy 2021.

Source: El heraldo