Mexico will begin its journey to the first Women’s Gold Cup against Puerto Rico

Mexican football selection will host the Puerto Rican this Friday as both teams begin their journey to qualify for the inaugural tournament. Women’s Gold Cup stories.

In that Aztec Stadiumwhich will host two men’s World Cup finals, the teams will make their debut on the first day of Group A of League A of the regional tournament qualifiers, which will be held in 2024.

Mexico led by Spain Pedro Lopezarrives favorite to top the sector, which also includes Trinidad and Tobago, and retains a direct berth to the Gold Cup.

López has chosen his base of players who have accompanied him in his process, which began in September 2022, in which the captain stands out. Kenty RoblesReal Madrid defender and Charlene Corralstriker Tusas del Pachuca.

In addition, the Iberian strategist achieved the return of one of his most destructive footballers, Scarlett CamberosThe City of Angels attacker, who fled Mexico last March after being digitally harassed by José Andrés Martínez Hernández, was arrested in July.

Scarlett Camberos.

With their star team, the Mexicans, who won this year’s Revelation Cup and the gold medal in Central American and Caribbean Gamesfirst titles under Lopez will challenge some of the Puerto Ricans who were left in the first round of San Salvador 2023 this year.

Caribbean teams do not have as established a league as Mexico’s, founded in 2017, and are 103rd in the FIFA rankings, while Tricolor is 36th, the third best team in Concacaf, behind only Canadian powers. and the USA.

On this FIFA day, in addition to Puerto Rico, next Tuesday Mexico will receive Trinidad and Tobagoon the second day of Group A, with Puerto Rico again competing in qualifying until October.

League A is handing out three direct tickets to the Gold Cup group stage for first place in each of the three sectors, while second place will play a preliminary round.

Likely lineups


Itzel Gonzalez
Anika Rodriguez
Greta Espinosa
Cristina Ferral
Kenty Robles
Natalia Mawelon
Alexia Delgado
Carolina Jaramillo
Scarlett Camberos
Charlene Corral
Maria Sanchez
SG: Pedro Lopez

Puerto Rico

Sydney Martinez
Isabel Martinez
Amber Diorio
Ariana Paes
Idelis Vasquez
Madison Cox
Josephine Cotto
Olivia Bevilacqua
Gillian Aguilera
Gloria Douglas
Christina Torres
Coach: Nathaniel Gonzalez

(according to information from EFE)

Source: Aristegui Noticias