F1: Verstappen undisputed pole position; Perez leads third row in Japan

Dutch racer and two-time world champion. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) achieved undisputed pole position for him Japanese Grand Prixseventeenth day of the 2023 FIFA World Cup. Formula 1, after dominating the classification early Saturday morning.

McLaren from Oscar Piastri (second) and Lando Norris (3rd) had a great session again this weekend, posting the fastest time behind Max, while his Austrian teammate, Sergio “Checo” Perezwill lead the third, mark the fifth position.

After disappointment in Singapore The day before, Verstappen returned to set the best time of the weekend, this time at the Suzuka circuit, where he was the fastest the only one capable of going below 1:29 on the clock (1:28.877), which allowed him to beat the McLarens by half a second.

Photo: Reuters

Monaco Ferrari, Charles Leclercwas able to overtake the Mexican and start from fourth position, and the native of Madrid Carlos Sainz, starts next to “Checo” from sixth position; The two Scuderia cars only had one attempt in the final third quarter as they only had one soft tyre.

In its turn, Mercedes You should start the test from the fourth row of the grid, with Lewis Hamiltonsecond last week, starting on the seventh and George Russellwho crashed into the wall at the Asian competition on the last lap while on the podium, will start eighth.

Photo: Reuters

Japanese Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) starts from ninth position, ahead of the Asturian Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin) who has taken another step back with his car and is holding on to worn tires to try to make up ground this Sunday at Suzuka.

Rating results Japanese Formula 1 Grand Prix:

.1. Max Verstappen NER Red Bull
.2. Oscar Piastri AUS McLaren
.3. Lando Norris GBR McLaren
.4. Charles Leclerc MON Ferrari
.5. Sergio Perez MEX Red Bull
.6. Carlos Sainz, ESP Ferrari
.7. Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes
.8. George Russell GBR Mercedes
.9. Yuki Tsunoda JAP Alpha Tauri
10. Fernando Alonso, ESP Aston Martin
11. Liam Lawson, NZL Alpha Tauri
12. Pierre Gasly, FRA Alpine
13. Alex Albon T.A. Williams
14. Esteban Ocon, FRA Alpine
15. Kevin Magnussen Dean Haas
16. Valtteri Bottas, Finland Alfa Romeo
17. Lance Stroll can Aston Martin
18. Nico Hulkenberg GER Haas
19. Zhou Guanyu, CHN Alfa Romeo
20. Logan Sargeant USA Williams

The date from Japan will continue this Saturday hour 23:00. with a race at the Suzuka circuit.

Photo: Reuters

(according to information from Europe Press)

Source: Aristegui Noticias