Sanctions against Russian soldiers for “systematic” sexual violence against Ukrainian women

The European Union this Tuesday approved sanctions against the Russian military, nine people and three entities involved in cases of sexual violence against women in the war in Ukraine, among other scenarios such as South Sudan, Afghanistan or Iran, where the violence against women is increasing, diplomatic sources confirmed.

On the threshold of International Women’s Day, the European bloc is adding its “blacklist” to police and military commanders. It is about the first time that you have applied the twenty-seven sanctions regime for human rights violations to cases of sexual violence against women.

The text of the sanctions, seen by Europa Press, refers to division commanders Nikolai Kuznetsov and Colonel Ramil Ibatullin, both Russian military leaders on the offensive against Ukraine, systematically sexually assaulting women in their units between March and April 2022, early stages of the invasion.

“scale and seriousness A. speaks of sexual and gender-based violence in Russian-occupied territories in Ukraine systematic planning. Commanders were aware of and in some cases encouraged and ordered sexual assaults by military personnel in Ukraine,” says the sanctions bill, which points to gang rapes by Russian soldiers and cases of sexual assault against pregnant women.

Sanctions also include Colonel Alexander Fedorinov and police officer Ivan Ryabov, both from the Moscow police station, for example the arbitrary arrest of demonstrators peacefully protesting against Vladimir Putin and for documented cases of torture.

In addition to the war in Ukraine, the EU is taking action against Afghan minister Mohamed Khalid Hanafi for restricting the freedom of women and girls. restricting their freedom of expression and imposing penalties on those who do not respect the edicts of the Taliban regime.

Others punished include two South Sudan police commanders for systematic sexual assaults in their regions and Burma’s deputy interior minister for torture and rape in the Asian country.

The three entities on the European blacklist are Iran’s Qarchak Prison, Myanmar’s Military and Security Affairs Headquarters and the Syrian Republican Guard, all of which are responsible for incidents of rape and torture during arbitrary detention.

Source: La Neta Neta